/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png
02/01/2017 1578 views
We just upgraded to version 7 on the K1000. We're still getting used to all the features. One thing we are unable to do so far is unassign a user from an asset. For example, when we imported all users from AD, they were automatically assigned to an asset based on the logged in user. Problem is we want some computers to not have any users assigned to them. Any ideas?
0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Comments


All Answers

0
Device Assignment is new in 7.0. It sounds like you have it configured for Continuous sync (it will automatically assign the logged on user to the device at each inventory interval). To resolve your issue, you can either disable automatic device assignment or change the setting to One-time sync (it would tie the logged on user to the device once, and then never automatically update the user assignment for that device again). The Device Assignment settings are found under General Settings in the Admin UI (within each ORG on a multi-ORG box).
Answered 02/01/2017 by: airwolf
Red Belt

  • Thanks for your answer. I changed it to one-time sync but I still can't seem to change the assigned to field to "unassigned". Strange thing is for computers that do not have an associated user, It shows them as unassigned. Do I have to wait a certain period of time before that option will appear?
    • You can change device assignment to a different owner, but there does not appear to be a way to unassign a device entirely once it's been assigned a user. Please submit a ticket to KACE support, and we can investigate further. Thanks!
0
Same problem here.
Did you contact KACE?
What was the resolution?
Answered 05/05/2017 by: MichAda
Orange Belt

  • No I have not contacted KACE yet. My resolution was just to create a user named "unassigned". Kind of silly I know, but it works for now.
0
From Devices Inventory:
Select the device
Click Choose action
Click "Assign to"
Choose "Unassigned" from drop down menu and hit save.

Or create a fake user and assign all the shared devices to that user.


Sam
Answered 11/09/2017 by: samuelcolt
Orange Senior Belt